DOOH companies, ranked by category: what each owns, how it is measured, how it is bought
Digital out of home companies fall into five groups: mobility operators, roadside digital owners, place-based networks, transit concessionaires, and the SSPs and DSPs that trade all of them. This list ranks 24 of them by four stated criteria: what each owns, how its inventory is measured, which platforms sell it, and what it publishes about lift.
Most "top DOOH companies" pages are directories with numbers on them. They put a demand-side platform next to a billboard owner next to a gym-television network and call the result a ranking, when the three do not sell the same thing, are not measured the same way and are not bought through the same pipe. A buyer who wants a screen on a taxi in Boston learns nothing from where Lamar sits on such a list.
So this one ranks inside categories, against the criteria stated below. Every line uses only what the company states on its own site or in its own SEC filing, read on September 14, 2026. Where a company states nothing, the line says so, and that costs it places. The category map itself, who owns versus who resells versus who plans, is on outdoor advertising companies; this page is the ranked, digital-only companion to it.
Disclosure: the editor of this site is employed by Firefly, which appears in this list. The ranking rules below apply to every company, Firefly included, and links to Firefly are tagged sponsored.
How this list is ranked
Five criteria. Four of them move a company up or down; the fifth is recorded because buyers keep asking for it and the answer is the same for all 24.
| Criterion | What counts as evidence | How it ranks |
|---|---|---|
| What it owns | Screens, a fleet, a concession, or software, as stated on its own site or in its own SEC filing. Counts are the company's own; none is estimated here. | Owners rank above resellers of the same inventory. Ties go to the larger stated digital count. |
| Where its inventory is measured | A measurement provider named on its own pages (Geopath, Comscore, Kantar, LoopMe, Reveal), or a described method (GPS on the unit, device location). | A named provider and method outranks "robust measurement" with no name attached. |
| Whether it is buyable programmatically | SSPs named on its own pages, or the company named on the SSP's page. Deal types (PG, PMP, open) where stated. | More named routes rank higher. Platforms are ranked by how many operators on this list name them. |
| Whether it publishes a rate card | A public price page on its own site. | Not a ranking factor, because none of the 24 does. Recorded so you stop looking. |
| What it publishes about lift | A named study, a named measurement partner, a date, and the metric. Third-party statistics quoted from someone else's research do not count. | A dated first-party study outranks a quoted industry figure. |
Order of the categories is by how close the inventory sits to the street: screens that move first, fixed roadside second, venues third, transit fourth, then the software that sells all of them. That is this site's lens, stated openly. A buyer whose brief is airports would order it differently.
How to read this list: owner, platform, agency
Three kinds of company appear below and only one of them owns anything you can photograph. An owner (Firefly, Lamar, GSTV, Intersection) operates screens, a fleet or a concession and sells occupancy of it. A platform (Place Exchange, Vistar, The Trade Desk) owns software and sells access to other people's screens; it takes a share of the media that flows through it. An agency (Billups, Talon, Rapport) owns neither and sells planning and negotiation. Agencies are not ranked here, because the criteria are about inventory, and they hold none. The best DOOH companies for a brief are the ones that own what the brief needs and can show how it is measured; a list cannot know your brief, which is why this one shows its working. The money flow between the three, and what each layer costs you in certainty, is drawn on the role map.
One more distinction matters for the measurement column. A fixed panel has an audited location, so Geopath can model its audience from traffic past that spot. A screen on a vehicle does not, so its audience comes from the unit's own GPS log and a device-location panel, a different method producing a different kind of number. Why the two should not share a spreadsheet column is on how out-of-home impressions are measured.
1. Mobility DOOH operators
Screens that ride on taxis, rideshare cars and inside the cabin. This is the category the site's archive documents, so it is also where the ranking is easiest to check against photographs. Firefly ranks first on the criteria, not on familiarity: it is the only operator in the group whose own pages name five SSPs and three dated third-party studies. That said, it is one of five names, and the other four are described in exactly the same terms.
| # | Company | Owns or operates | Measured how | Programmatic route | Rate card and lift |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Firefly | Digital and static tops on taxis and rideshare vehicles, 360, 270 and 180 wraps, LED trucks, in-car TaxiTV and experiential units. Its homepage names 15 digital-top markets: New York, Chicago, Los Angeles, San Francisco, Dallas, Las Vegas, Austin, Miami, Boston, Philadelphia, Atlanta, Phoenix, Washington DC, Houston and Toronto. | Each digital top carries built-in GPS, its on-car page states. Its measurement page lists brand, foot-traffic, web-conversion and app-conversion studies run with "leading measurement providers"; the providers it names in its own posts are LoopMe, Foursquare and Reveal. Geopath is not named. | Place Exchange, Vistar Media, Hivestack and Broadsign SSPs, with programmatic guaranteed, open marketplace deals and DCO (advertising-solutions page); VIOOH added by integration announced April 23, 2026. | No rate card. Three dated studies: a LoopMe brand study across Chicago, New York, Los Angeles and Miami (43% brand lift, 44% recall, 46% favorability, 85% purchase intent; 39,981,921 impressions delivered against a 30,000,000 target); a Reveal study of October 2025 finding stationary and moving OOH together lifted performance 50% to 100%; a second Reveal study finding up to 2.8x greater reach from moving units. |
| 2 | Curb (Curb Mobility) | Curb TaxiTV, in-vehicle screens: "15K+ Screens" in "65+ Major Markets" on its own page. Its taxi-top business, "over ten thousand top-of-car screens" in 11 cities, was sold to Firefly in June 2021. | "2.2B+ Impressions Annually", method not stated; cites Nielsen on engagement against other DOOH venues. | Place Exchange and Vistar; DSP partners named as The Trade Desk, Verizon Media and MediaMath. | No rate card. No first-party lift study on the page read; the Nielsen reference is an engagement comparison, not a lift figure. |
| 3 | SOMO (GPO Vallas) | "4,000 digital displays across 2,000 yellow taxis" in New York, launched in 2024 under an advertising partnership with the city's Taxi and Limousine Commission; a TaxiTV in-car product it puts at "6,000 TaxiTV Vehicles" across "10 U.S. Media Markets". Part of GPO Vallas. | No provider or method named on its own pages. | "Programmatic campaigns are welcome" through "industry-leading SSPs and DSPs"; none named on its site. | No rate card. No lift study on its site. |
| 4 | Uber Advertising | JourneyTV in-car screens (display, video and interactive formats with QR and tap-to-email) alongside in-app formats. A June 13, 2024 post says an exclusive T-Mobile partnership would take JourneyTV to "over 50,000 vehicles across the US this year". Its October 19, 2022 launch release named "digital out-of-home Car Top Ads"; the current surfaces page does not list them. | States "a 98% completion rate" for ads on its own video screens. Cites Kantar brand-lift results for in-app Journey Ads (favorability, recall, purchase intent), without figures. | In-app Journey Ads through Google Ad Manager, Display & Video 360, The Trade Desk and Yahoo DSP as programmatic guaranteed (June 11, 2024). No SSP named for JourneyTV screens. | No rate card. Lift claims are directional (no percentages published for the Kantar work). |
| 5 | T-Mobile Advertising Solutions (Octopus Interactive) | Rideshare in-car tablet network, Octopus Interactive, acquired by T-Mobile in January 2022; its screens carry Uber's JourneyTV under the June 2024 partnership. T-Mobile also owns Vistar Media (Vistar's site footer). Its own rideshare product page returned an access error from this desk, so the line rests on Uber's and Vistar's pages. | Not verifiable from a page this desk could read. | Vistar (same owner); not confirmed on a T-Mobile page. | Not verifiable. Ranked last for that reason, not for scale. |
Three things stand out in that table. TaxiTV is a name two companies use for in-car video on their own pages, Curb for its network of "15K+" screens and Firefly for the product its in-car page dates to 2007; SOMO sells a third TaxiTV count. The word is a format label as much as a brand, and a buyer should ask which fleet and which city before comparing the numbers. Second, the two rideshare platforms are moving in opposite directions: Uber's current surfaces page lists in-car JourneyTV but no longer the car-top ads its 2022 launch named, and Lyft's live site sells car wraps, bikeshare panels and in-app placements with no vehicle screen at all, which is why Lyft is in the "not on the list" note further down rather than in the table. Third, none of the five names Geopath. The audited-location model was built for structures, so a moving operator that quoted a Geopath number would be quoting the wrong method; the honest ones describe the GPS and device-panel method instead, and Firefly's on-car page and measurement page do that most explicitly.
On lift, the gap is wide. Firefly's LoopMe brand study and its two Reveal studies are the only dated, partner-named results in the category. Uber's 98% completion rate is a delivery statistic, not a lift figure, and its Kantar results are stated without numbers. That is why the ranking within the category is not close, and why the same criteria would reorder it the day another operator publishes a study with a partner's name and a date on it. What a brand lift study has to contain to be worth reading is on brand lift study.
2. Roadside digital owners
Digital bulletins and spectaculars on structures the company owns. Counts here are the most reliable on the page because three of the four file them with the SEC. Ranked by stated digital billboards; the airport and transit screens the same owners run are counted separately in category 4.
| # | Company | Owns or operates | Measured how | Programmatic route | Rate card and lift |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Lamar Advertising | "Over 5,600" digital displays on its product page; its Form 10-K counts about 5,500 digital billboards in 43 states and Canada at December 31, 2025, generating about 33% of billboard net revenue. Runs the network on Vistar's Cortex content system (April 24, 2024). | Geopath is not named on the digital product page or in the 10-K. Vistar's announcement puts the network at "over 5 billion weekly impressions", source unstated. | "A portion of our unsold digital display inventory" through programmatic partners; the channel is 2% of its outdoor business (10-K). Vistar SSP (Lamar case study), Place Exchange (Lamar quoted on Broadsign's SSP page). | No rate card. No first-party lift study on the pages read. |
| 2 | Clear Channel Outdoor | At June 30, 2026: 2,059 digital billboards and 525 digital street-furniture and transit displays in 28 US DMAs, plus 2,561 digital airport displays; 5,145 digital of 64,521 total displays (8-K, August 5, 2026). Agreed on February 9, 2026 to be taken private by a Mubadala Capital consortium. | RADAR, its proprietary planning and measurement suite (10-K). Lift benchmark: RADARProof with Kantar, 13.3% average ad-awareness growth across its studies (July 2025). | Says it "pioneered private marketplace programmatic solutions in 2016" and sells through SSPs to multiple DSPs (10-K). StackAdapt names Clear Channel among its supply. | No rate card. The Kantar RADARProof average is the one published lift figure among the roadside owners. |
| 3 | OUTFRONT Media | 1,928 US digital billboard displays at December 31, 2025, producing $434.3 million of digital billboard revenue; 103 built or converted in 2025 (10-K). Says digital billboards earn "approximately four to five times more revenue per display" than static at two to four times the cost. | Names Geopath "and alternative measurement systems" in its 10-K. Its DOOH page quotes third-party recall and noticing figures (Solomon Partners 2021, Nielsen 2020). | Place Exchange SSP (OUTFRONT quoted on Broadsign's page); StackAdapt names Outfront among its supply. | No rate card. No first-party lift study on the pages read; the figures it quotes are industry studies. |
| 4 | Branded Cities | Digital and static displays in New York, Los Angeles, Chicago, Philadelphia, San Francisco, Washington DC, Phoenix, Denver and Las Vegas, including Harmon Corner on the Strip and Bryant Park Digital. No display count on its site. | None named. | None named on its site. | No rate card; proposals by request. No lift study. |
Two filings tell you more about this category than any ranked list. Lamar's 5,500 digital billboards are about 3.5% of its roughly 159,300 billboard displays and earn about a third of its billboard revenue. Clear Channel Outdoor says digital is about 8% of its inventory and 44% of its revenue. Digital is where the money is, and the owners are converting as fast as permitting allows: OUTFRONT built or converted 103 in 2025, Clear Channel added 71. Programmatic is still small inside it. Lamar puts the channel at 2% of its outdoor business, which should temper any pitch that says the billboard market is now bought through a DSP. Most of it is booked by phone, four weeks at a time. The mechanics of the part that is not are on programmatic DOOH.
Branded Cities sits fourth because it states no count and names no SSP or measurement provider, not because its Harmon Corner wall is a lesser asset. That is how a stated-criteria list works: silence ranks below a number.
3. Place-based networks
Screens inside venues where people already are: gyms, fuel stations, office lobbies, charging bays. This is the largest digital category by unit on the OAAA's year-end 2025 count, 1,074,900 displays, and the one with the least consistent counting. Zoom Media counts screens, GSTV counts locations, Captivate counts displays and venues, JOLT counts states. Ranked by the largest stated figure, with that caveat attached.
| # | Company | Owns or operates | Measured how | Programmatic route | Rate card and lift |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Zoom Media (GymTV) | GymTV, "broadcast on 100,600 screens" in "more than 13,600 leading gyms" across the US, Canada and the UK, plus gym spectaculars, cardio screens and sampling. | None named on the page read. | VIOOH for the US and Canada (August 28, 2025); Place Exchange SSP (Zoom Media quoted on Broadsign's page). | No rate card. No lift study on the pages read. |
| 2 | GSTV | Fuel-pump video network at "29,000+" locations, its count. Screens per location not stated. | "115 MM+" monthly unique viewers, credited to Comscore (May 2023); Affinity Solutions for purchase data. | SSPs named: Broadsign, Magnite, Place Exchange, Vistar Media. Deal types: Direct Flex, programmatic guaranteed, PMP, open exchange. Seventeen DSPs listed, The Trade Desk and Yahoo DSP among them. | No rate card. No dated lift study on the pages read. |
| 3 | Captivate | "26K" lobby and elevator displays in "11K" venues, reaching 100K businesses and 8.7M households, its figures. | "Third-party impression verification for every screen"; the third party is not named on the page read. | "PMP, OE & programmatic guaranteed" across 26K screens; SSPs not named. | No rate card. Attribution offered; no dated public study. |
| 4 | JOLT (formerly Volta Media Network) | EV-charger screens: agreed on November 13, 2025 to acquire "a substantial portion of the Volta Media Network" from Shell, sites "spanning up to 34 states and 64 Designated Marketing Areas", closing expected January 1, 2026. No screen count in the release. | "Audience measurement and performance insights", provider unnamed. | Not stated in the release. | No rate card. Ranked last for unstated counts, not for size. |
GSTV is the clearest disclosure on the whole page for the third criterion: four SSPs and seventeen DSPs named, four deal types defined, on a single public page. Ask every other company on this list for the same page and notice who cannot produce one. On measurement, the venue networks lean on syndicated audience panels (Comscore for GSTV) or unnamed "third-party verification" rather than Geopath, because Geopath's audited-location model was built for the roadside. A venue impression and a roadside impression are both modelled, from different inputs.
4. Transit digital
Screens sold under a concession from a transit authority, plus the street kiosks that share the sidewalk with them. The owner does not own the structure here; it holds a contract to sell on it, under the authority's content rules. Ranked by stated digital display count.
| # | Company | Owns or operates | Measured how | Programmatic route | Rate card and lift |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | OUTFRONT Media (MTA and other systems) | 29,493 US digital transit displays at December 31, 2025, of which 6,505 are reserved for transit-agency use; digital transit revenue $214.8 million (10-K). Under the MTA agreement it is obligated to deploy 5,433 digital screens on platforms and entrances and 15,896 smaller digital screens on rolling stock. Also sells LA Metro buses, BART, Metra and MBTA vehicles and stations (authority pages, on this site's market desks). | Geopath named in the 10-K. | Place Exchange SSP; StackAdapt names it. | No rate card. Same lift position as its roadside entry: quoted industry figures, no first-party study on the pages read. |
| 2 | Intersection | LinkNYC, "4,000+ screens across all five boroughs", which it calls "North America's largest street level" DOOH network; transit concessions on the CTA, SEPTA, MARTA, Muni and LA Metro rail, and MBTA shelters, each named on the authority's own page. Lists 14 markets. | Geopath, cited on the LinkNYC page for "3.4 B monthly impressions" and "92% reach in New York City". | None named on the pages read. | No rate card. No lift study on the pages read. |
| 3 | JCDecaux | Street furniture, airports and billboards in North America (New York, Los Angeles, Chicago named). Group: 1,105,906 advertising panels in 79 countries; digital was 42.8% of revenue in the first half of 2026, up 14.5% organically (July 30, 2026). | "Geopath is our primary affiliated data partner" (North America programmatic page). | "We use VIOOH as our exclusive SSP." Programmatic was 12.3% of Group digital revenue in H1 2026. | No rate card. No first-party lift study on the pages read. |
OUTFRONT's 29,493 digital transit displays dwarf its 1,928 digital billboards, and the MTA obligation alone, 5,433 platform screens and 15,896 in-car screens, is larger than any roadside digital network in the country. Note the 6,505 displays reserved for agency use: a transit screen count on a sales deck may include units that never carry an ad. Which company holds which system, and each authority's content standard, is on subway advertising. For a brief that needs the same commuters at street level rather than on the platform, the mobility operators in category 1 run the neighbourhoods those stations sit in; Firefly's 15-market list and the transit concessions above overlap in New York, Chicago, Los Angeles, San Francisco, Boston, Philadelphia and Atlanta; its product range is on its advertising solutions page.
5. Supply and demand platforms
Software, no screens. A supply-side platform connects owners' inventory to buyers; a demand-side platform buys across owners against an audience. Size claims here are self-reported on incompatible definitions (screens, markets, DSP connections), so the ranking uses a criterion this page can actually verify: how many of the operators above name the platform on their own pages as a route to buy.
Supply-side platforms
| # | Platform | Role | Named by operators on this list | What it states about itself |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Place Exchange (Broadsign) | SSP; PerView measurement for buyers and sellers | Firefly, Curb, GSTV, Lamar, OUTFRONT, Zoom Media | "55+ DSPs worldwide" on Broadsign's Place Exchange SSP page; programmatic guaranteed with Display & Video 360. Acquired by Broadsign, November 25, 2025. |
| 2 | Vistar Media (T-Mobile) | SSP, DSP and ad server, plus Cortex and Adstruc | Firefly, Curb, GSTV, Lamar | Says it hosts "the world's most extensive out-of-home inventory"; no screen count on the pages read. DV360 lists it for non-guaranteed deals only. Marked "part of T-Mobile" on its own site; the acquisition was announced in January 2025. |
| 3 | VIOOH | SSP, created by JCDecaux in 2018 | Firefly, JCDecaux, Zoom Media | "Over 99,000+ screens", "45+ markets", "over 50 DSPs", "exclusive access to JCDecaux formats". |
| 4 | Broadsign | Ad server and network management (Control, Direct, Ayuda, Publish); Place Exchange SSP; OutMoove DSP | Firefly, GSTV | Acquired OutMoove (May 13, 2024) and Place Exchange (November 25, 2025). Its former Broadsign Reach SSP page now resolves to Place Exchange SSP. |
| 5 | Hivestack (Perion) | Ad server, SSP and header bidder for owners; DSP for buyers | Firefly | Acquired by Perion December 12, 2023, deployed in 32 countries at the time. hivestack.com now redirects to perion.com, where the DOOH stack is put at ">1.7M DOOH screens globally" and "40+ markets". DV360 lists it as "Perion (Hivestack)". |
Demand-side platforms
| # | Platform | Role | Named by operators on this list | What it states about itself |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | The Trade Desk | Omnichannel DSP | Curb, GSTV, Lyft Ads, Uber (in-app) | Buys by "audience reach percentage", offers omnichannel retargeting, brand lift studies and attribution; a marketplace of DOOH partners. |
| 2 | Display & Video 360 (Google) | Omnichannel DSP | Uber (in-app), Lyft Ads | DOOH by programmatic guaranteed or non-guaranteed deals from Perion (Hivestack), Magnite, Place Exchange, Ströer, VIOOH and Vistar (non-guaranteed only). Static image and standard video; "HTML5, dynamic, and other high impact formats for DOOH aren't supported". Delivery "may take an average of 24 hours". |
| 3 | StackAdapt | Omnichannel DSP | None of the operators above; it names five of them | Plans by "location, venue type, and timing signals like time of day or weather"; footfall attribution. Names JCDecaux, Broadsign, Clear Channel, Outfront and Lamar Global among its supply. |
The platform layer consolidated in two years. Perion bought Hivestack (December 2023), Broadsign bought OutMoove (May 2024) and then Place Exchange (November 2025), and T-Mobile bought Vistar Media, so two of the five SSPs above now share an owner with something else on this list: Vistar with the Octopus in-car network, VIOOH with JCDecaux. That is not a conflict a buyer needs to avoid, but it is one to know about when a platform recommends inventory. The DV360 help page is worth reading before any programmatic DOOH plan for a different reason: it states plainly that DOOH creative is static image or standard video only, and that delivery can take a day. The deal types themselves, and what a bid request for a screen actually contains, are on programmatic DOOH.
What none of them publishes
A rate card. Not one of the 24 has a public price page, and this site does not fill the gap; every figure on it is a third-party published number. The second thing almost none of them publishes is a dated first-party lift study with the measurement partner's name on it. Across the 16 owners and operators above, the count is three studies from one mobility operator and one benchmark average from one roadside owner. Everyone else quotes an industry figure or says "robust measurement". The phrase is not evidence. If a vendor cannot tell you which company measured the lift, when, and against what control, the number on the deck is a decoration.
Context for how much of the market this is: the OAAA's March 17, 2026 release put US out-of-home revenue at $9.46 billion for 2025, with digital 36.3% of it and growing 10.5% against 3.6% for the category. The companies above are most of that 36.3%, and between them they have published four lift results.
Who is not on the list, and why
- Lyft Ads. Its live site sells in-app placements, car wrap branding and bikeshare branding, and runs programmatic through The Trade Desk, Microsoft Curate and DV360 for "CTV, online video, and display". No vehicle screen appears on any page read, so it is not a digital out-of-home company on its own description, whatever earlier products were called.
- Managed-service agencies (Billups, Talon, Rapport). They own no screens, so the criteria do not apply. They are compared on outdoor advertising companies.
- Yahoo DSP. Named by Curb, GSTV and Uber; its own DOOH page was not read for this list, so it is not ranked.
- Anything counted from trade press. SOMO's reported Las Vegas expansion, Octopus's reported screen totals and Vistar's reported screen count all exist in trade coverage and not on the companies' own pages this desk could read, so they are left out rather than repeated.
The list will be re-read against the same criteria when the pages change. A company that publishes a count, a partner name or a dated study moves up on the next pass; the criteria do not.
Where to go next
For the categories as formats rather than companies, start with the guide to out-of-home advertising and what is DOOH. For the sourced market figures behind the context above, out-of-home advertising statistics. To see the mobility category in the field, the campaign archive holds 3,783 photographed frames across 21 markets.
Frequently asked questions
- What is a DOOH company?
- DOOH advertising companies sell advertising on digital screens outside the home, but the label covers five different businesses: operators of screens on vehicles, owners of roadside digital billboards, place-based networks in venues such as gyms, fuel stations and office lobbies, transit concessionaires, and the supply-side and demand-side platforms that trade all of that inventory. What a company owns tells you what it will sell you, which is why this list is grouped by ownership before it is ranked.
- What are examples of digital out-of-home advertising?
- A GPS-tracked screen on a taxi roof, a digital bulletin beside a highway, a subway platform screen, a LinkNYC kiosk, a screen on a fuel pump, an elevator display, a gym television and a Las Vegas spectacular are all digital out-of-home. On the OAAA's year-end 2025 count, the largest digital categories by unit were place-based displays (1,074,900), taxi and rideshare screens (105,000) and digital billboards (25,000).
- What is DOOH in adtech?
- In advertising technology, DOOH is a channel that can be bought through the same demand-side platforms as online video and display. Owners connect screens to a supply-side platform (Place Exchange, Vistar, VIOOH, Broadsign, Hivestack), buyers bid or book through a DSP (The Trade Desk, Display & Video 360, StackAdapt), and the impression is a modelled audience count for a play, not a device-level event. How that plumbing works, and what it costs in certainty, is on the site's programmatic DOOH page.
- Who are the top DSPs for digital out-of-home in the US?
- On this list, ranked by how many of the operators name them: The Trade Desk (named by Curb, GSTV, Lyft Ads and Uber for in-app), Display & Video 360 (Uber and Lyft Ads, and it lists six DOOH sellers), then StackAdapt, which names five of the owners here as supply. Vistar Media also runs a DOOH-specific DSP alongside its SSP. Yahoo DSP appears in three operators' partner lists but is not profiled here because its DOOH page was not read for this list.
- Is DOOH growing?
- Yes, and faster than the category. The OAAA's March 17, 2026 release put 2025 US out-of-home revenue at $9.46 billion, up 3.6%, with digital 36.3% of it and growing 10.5%. JCDecaux reported digital at 42.8% of Group revenue in the first half of 2026, up 14.5% organically, with programmatic 12.3% of its digital revenue. Lamar puts programmatic at 2% of its outdoor business, so the programmatic share varies a great deal by owner.
- What are the top billboard companies in the United States?
- By 2025 revenue in their own Form 10-K filings: Lamar Advertising ($2.27 billion), OUTFRONT Media ($1.83 billion) and Clear Channel Outdoor (about $1.6 billion). By stated digital billboards: Lamar over 5,600 (about 5,500 in its 10-K), Clear Channel Outdoor 2,059 at June 30, 2026, OUTFRONT 1,928 at December 31, 2025. Clear Channel Outdoor agreed in February 2026 to be taken private by a Mubadala Capital consortium.
- How much money do digital billboards make?
- The owners publish it in their filings, not as a rate. Lamar's roughly 5,500 digital billboards produced about 33% of its billboard net revenue in 2025. OUTFRONT's 1,928 US digital billboard displays produced $434.3 million in 2025, and it states a digital billboard earns four to five times the revenue of a comparable static one at two to four times the cost. Clear Channel Outdoor reports digital as about 8% of its inventory and 44% of its revenue. None of that is a price to an advertiser; this site publishes no rate card.
- Who is the biggest DOOH company in the world?
- JCDecaux calls itself "the Number One outdoor advertising company in the world" and reports 1,105,906 advertising panels in 79 countries, with digital 42.8% of revenue in the first half of 2026. Among platforms, Perion puts its Hivestack stack at more than 1.7 million DOOH screens in 40 or more markets and VIOOH states over 99,000 screens in 45 or more markets. Those are self-reported counts on different definitions; there is no audited league table.
Sources
- Homepage: digital top network market list (15 markets), product range · Firefly, Accessed September 14, 2026
- Advertising Solutions: programmatic capabilities (Place Exchange, Vistar Media, Hivestack, Broadsign; PG, open marketplace, DCO) · Firefly, Accessed September 14, 2026
- On-Car Products: digital tops with built-in GPS, static tops, 360/270/180 wraps · Firefly, Accessed September 14, 2026
- In-Car Advertising: TaxiTV, geofencing, dayparting, programmatically enabled · Firefly, Accessed September 14, 2026
- Measurement and Attribution: brand, foot traffic, web and app conversion studies; Foursquare footfall case study · Firefly, Accessed September 14, 2026
- Case Study: Boosting Key Brand Metrics with Firefly Digital Taxi/Rideshare Tops (LoopMe; four markets; 39,981,921 impressions) · Firefly, Accessed September 14, 2026
- Firefly and Reveal Study Finds Moving Out-of-Home Unlocks Up to 2.8x Greater Reach (and the October 2025 study: 50% to 100% lift) · Firefly, Accessed September 14, 2026
- Firefly Expands Programmatic Capabilities Through Integration with VIOOH · Firefly, April 23, 2026
- Advertise on Taxi TV: 15K+ screens, 65+ markets, 2.2B+ impressions, Place Exchange and Vistar, DSP partners · Curb Mobility, Accessed September 14, 2026
- Ballantyne Strong Portfolio Company Firefly Systems Inc. Acquires Curb Taxi Media (over ten thousand top-of-car screens, 11 cities) · GlobeNewswire, June 28, 2021
- Products and Solutions: 4,000 digital displays on 2,000 yellow taxis; 6,000 TaxiTV vehicles in 10 markets · SOMO, Accessed September 14, 2026
- About: part of GPO Vallas; launched 2024 with a TLC advertising partnership · SOMO, Accessed September 14, 2026
- Uber's JourneyTV advertising surface will expand to over 50,000 screens (T-Mobile partnership; 98% completion rate) · Uber, June 13, 2024
- Advertising on Uber in the news: October 19, 2022 launch (Car Top Ads); June 11, 2024 programmatic Journey Ads (Google Ad Manager, DV360, The Trade Desk, Yahoo DSP); Kantar results · Uber, Accessed September 14, 2026
- Advertising surfaces on the Uber app and in-car (JourneyTV display, video, interactive) · Uber, Accessed September 14, 2026
- Lyft Ads: in-app formats, car wrap branding, bikeshare branding; 50M riders, 2M+ daily trips, 600+ cities · Lyft, Accessed September 14, 2026
- Lyft Ads programmatic: The Trade Desk, Microsoft Curate, DV360; CTV, online video and display · Lyft, Accessed September 14, 2026
- Digital advertising products: over 5,600 displays · Lamar Advertising Company, Accessed September 14, 2026
- Lamar Advertising Company, Form 10-K for fiscal year 2025 (about 5,500 digital billboards; 33% of billboard net revenue; programmatic 2% of outdoor business) · U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission, Filed February 20, 2026
- Vistar Media to power Lamar Advertising's US DOOH billboard network (Cortex; nearly 5,000 displays; over 5 billion weekly impressions) · Vistar Media, April 24, 2024
- A Leader in OOH, A Leader in Programmatic: Lamar's Success Story (Vistar SSP) · Vistar Media, April 4, 2020
- Clear Channel Outdoor Holdings, Inc. Reports Results for the Second Quarter of 2026 (displays by segment, digital and printed, at June 30, 2026; pending Mubadala Capital merger) · U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission (Form 8-K, Exhibit 99.1), August 5, 2026
- Clear Channel Outdoor Holdings, Inc., Form 10-K for fiscal year 2025 (RADAR; programmatic since 2016; digital 8% of inventory, 44% of revenue) · U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission, Filed February 26, 2026
- OUTFRONT Media Inc., Form 10-K for fiscal year 2025 (digital billboard and transit display counts and revenue; MTA deployment obligations; Geopath) · U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission, Filed February 26, 2026
- Digital Out of Home Advertising (third-party recall and noticing figures; spot lengths) · OUTFRONT Media, Accessed September 14, 2026
- Branded Cities: markets, Harmon Corner, Bryant Park Digital · Branded Cities, Accessed September 14, 2026
- GymTV: 13,600 gyms, 100,600 screens · Zoom Media, Accessed September 14, 2026
- Zoom Media Partners with VIOOH to Expand Programmatic Access to the GymTV Video Network Across North America · VIOOH, August 28, 2025
- GSTV: 29,000+ locations; 115MM+ monthly unique viewers (Comscore, May 2023) · GSTV, Accessed September 14, 2026
- GSTV Programmatic: SSPs (Broadsign, Magnite, Place Exchange, Vistar Media), DSPs, deal types · GSTV, Accessed September 14, 2026
- Captivate: 26K displays, 11K venues; PMP, OE and programmatic guaranteed; third-party impression verification · Captivate, Accessed September 14, 2026
- JOLT to Acquire Volta Media Network from Shell to Accelerate Global Growth with U.S. Expansion · JOLT, November 13, 2025
- LinkNYC: 4,000+ screens; 3.4B monthly impressions and 92% reach (Geopath) · Intersection, Accessed September 14, 2026
- Markets (14 listed) · Intersection, Accessed September 14, 2026
- Programmatic: VIOOH as exclusive SSP; Geopath as primary data partner · JCDecaux North America, Accessed September 14, 2026
- Half-Year 2026 results: strong performance driven by digital (revenue, digital 42.8%, programmatic 12.3% of digital, 1,105,906 panels, 79 countries) · JCDecaux, July 30, 2026
- Programmatic DOOH Marketplace: the Vistar SSP and DSP · Vistar Media, Accessed September 14, 2026
- T-Mobile Acquires Vistar Media, A Leading OOH SSP, For $600 Million · AdExchanger, January 13, 2025
- Place Exchange: SSP, PerView measurement, programmatic guaranteed with DV360 · Place Exchange, Accessed September 14, 2026
- Place Exchange SSP by Broadsign: 55+ DSPs; media-owner statements from Lamar, OUTFRONT and Zoom Media · Broadsign, Accessed September 14, 2026
- Broadsign Announces Acquisition of Place Exchange · Broadsign, November 25, 2025
- Broadsign Acquires Netherlands-based DOOH DSP OutMoove · Broadsign, May 13, 2024
- Perion Acquires Hivestack (ad server, SSP, header bidder, DSP; 32 countries) · Perion, December 12, 2023
- Perion: DOOH platform, >1.7M screens, 40+ markets · Perion, Accessed September 14, 2026
- VIOOH for buyers: 99,000+ screens, 45+ markets, 50+ DSPs, JCDecaux formats · VIOOH, Accessed September 14, 2026
- Digital out-of-home advertising: audience reach percentage, retargeting, brand lift and attribution · The Trade Desk, Accessed September 14, 2026
- Digital out-of-home advertising platform: targeting signals, footfall attribution, supply partners · StackAdapt, Accessed September 14, 2026
- Purchase digital out-of-home inventory: sellers, deal types, creative limits, delivery time · Google Display & Video 360 Help, Accessed September 14, 2026
- New Kantar Study Shows Out-of-Home Advertising Outperforms Key Channels (RADARProof: 13.3% average ad-awareness growth) · Clear Channel Outdoor, via PR Newswire, July 8, 2025
- T-Mobile Acquires Rideshare Advertising Network, Octopus Interactive · T-Mobile Newsroom, January 10, 2022
- JCDecaux launches VIOOH, a global independent automated planning and trading platform · JCDecaux, June 12, 2018
- 2025 OOH Facts & Figures: Ad Spend Performance (displays by format at year-end 2025) · Out of Home Advertising Association of America (OAAA), April 2026
- Out of Home Advertising Revenue Reaches Record $9.46 Billion (digital 36.3% of revenue, up 10.5%) · Out of Home Advertising Association of America (OAAA), March 17, 2026
- OOH industry advances effort to modernize audience measurement and selects Ipsos for pilot program · Geopath, March 31, 2026
About the author
Melih Koray is a marketing and SEO practitioner who documents out-of-home media, with a particular interest in inventory that moves. On this site he writes the vendor and ranking pages, where the question is who owns what and what each seller publishes, and he edits every page, tracing each statistic to a named and dated source.
Melih Koray on LinkedIn · How this site is edited and what it refuses to publish: about this site.